Members Area

Welcome !

Juries. Given the situation caused worldwide by the Covid-19 virus, an amazing number of film festivals is taking place, live or online or in a hybrid way. Only, we don’t get enough applications for our juries. See Alin Tasciyan’s appeal to apply More And see the permanently updated list of next festivals and juries.

Elena Rubashevska, our Ukrainian colleague, has been appointed editor-in-chief of our website by our board. We’re glad that – after a long period of us only being able to offer “minimal service” in terms of editorial – she is making her professional website knowledge and experience available to us.

Grand Prix – Best Film of the Year. The FIPRESCI Grand Prix, that has been presented every year since 1999 at the festival of San Sebastián, will exceptionally not be awarded in 2020. More

UNESCO. Our French colleague Jean Roy has represented us in the CICT – International Council for Film, Television and Audiovisual Communication (ICFT), a body linked to UNESCO, task: “Stimulate the creation and promote the production and distribution of high standard audiovisual works.” After Jean Roy’s retreat, our president Isabelle Danel will succeed him as the FIPRESCI representative. We cordially thank Jean Roy for representing us for many years with his engagement, his deep knowledge of and love for cinema, his authority as critic.

Beat Glur, our Swiss colleague, takes now care of the administration of membership fees. He replaced Joost Broeren, who had worked in the department until the end of 2019. Beat Glur’s email addresses are and

Please use for all correspondence concerning juries only the email address This mail is read by everybody at FIPRESCI in charge of juries.

Klaus Eder
October 9, 2020