60th Annecy International Animation Film Festival

France, June 15 - June 22 2020

Festival homepage

The jury

Andrea Crozzoli (Italy), Naama Rak (Israel), Bernard Génin (France)

Awarded films

Print source: NFB – National Film Board of Canada.

The Critics Jury worked online. Three members awarded the medium-length The Physics of Sorrow (Physique de la tristesse, 2020) by the Bulgarian/Canadian Theodore Ushev. According to the jury member Andrea Crozzoli, “It is a labyrinthine film, seductive and enveloping in intensity and rhythm, full of poignant melancholy. It describes the pains of growing up, combined with the sense of unease and uprooting in adulthood spent in Canada”.