34th Stockholm Film Festival

Sweden, November 8 - November 19 2023

Festival homepage

The jury

Sonora Broka (Latvia), Clementine Van Wijngaarden (The Netherlands), Helena Lindblad (Sweden)

Awarded films

Our jury focused on the “Open Zone” program, which included feature films from acclaimed directors in contemporary cinema from around the world.

Prize motivation: “In this multilayered fable the director explores the phantom of fear, the ever-changing truth and the alienation of adults and children. With a masterly use of complex storytelling and an immersive sound the film constantly challenges our viewpoints and our expectations. “Monster” proves that the Japanese veteran continues to stay true to his recurring themes but also manages to surprise us once again.”