FIPRESCI 90 Platinum Award: Andrzej Wajda

At the Bari International Film Festival (Italy, March 21-28, 2015), FIPRESCI celebrated its 90th anniversary with a series of masterclasses and award ceremonies dedicated to Alan Parker, Jean-Jacques Annaud, Costa-Gavras, Ettore Scola, Edgar Reitz, Margarethe von Trotta and Nanni Moretti.

And to Andrzej Wajda.

Motivation. “Tonight the award for the 90th Anniversary of FIPRESCI goes to a director who won four FIPRESCI Prizes throughout his career:

– In 1959 at Venice for “Ashes and Diamonds”
– In 1970 at MIFED Milan for “Birch Wood”
– In 1978 at Cannes for “Man of Marble”
– In 2009 he won the “European Critics Award” for “Sweet Rush” (European Film Award):

Academy Award Winner Andrzej Wajda.

A revolutionary author who, through a deep and impassioned immersion in the human and social soul, questioned his own times and the pillars of a complex and sometimes painful contemporaneity.

His cinema, which includes films such as “Canal”, “Innocent Sorcerers”, “Without Anesthesia”, “Landscape after the Battle”, “Man or Iron”, “Danton”, “Katyn”, “Walesa – Man of Hope” – his cinema is a unique cultural heritage, essential for the understanding of the undercurrent movements of history and humanity, and of the meaning of destiny itself.”

Photo, from left: FIPRESCI General Secretary Klaus Eder, Andrzej Wajda, FIPRESCI President Alin Tasciyan, Polish critic Grazyna Torbicka.