Toronto 2017

Toronto. At TIFF, the Toronto International Film Festival ((Canada, September 7-17, 2017), the Critics Prize went to a film in the “Discovery” section and to a film in “Special Preentations” – to a debut, and to the new film of an already known filmmaker.

Prize, Discovery: “Ava” (Ava) by Sadaf Foroughi (Iran, Canada, Qatar, 2017, 103 minutes).

Prize, Special Presentations: “The Motive” (El autor) by writer/director Manuel Martín Cuenca (Spain, 2017, 112 minutes.

Jury members were: Jonathan Rosenbaum, USA, president; Ivonete Pinto, Brazil; Marietta Steinhart, Austria; Martin Horyna, Czech Republic; Robert Daudelin, Canada; James Slotek, Canada.

Reports on the festival: