Cannes 2024

France, May 14 - May 25 2024

Festival homepage

The jury

Marcelo Janot (Brazil), Max Borg (Switzerland), Hossein Eidizadeh (Iran), Patrick Fey (Germany), Barbara Gasser (Austria), Sadia Khalid (Bangladesh), Chih-Yuan Liang (France), Laura Pertuy (France), Han Tien (Taiwan)

Awarded films

Our jury at the 77th edition of this major event awarded one prize to a film in competition, another prize to a film in the “Un Certain Regard” section, and still another prize to a film in the parallel sections of “Directors Fortnight” or “Critics Week”.


“The Seed of the Sacred Fig” (Competition). “A courageous story set in modern day Iran that deals with the conflict between tradition and progress, depicted in a very powerful and imaginative way.” (Photo Courtesy Films Boutique)


“The Story of Souleymane” (Un Certain Regard). “A tight piece of fiction with a documentary feel, a race against the clock that reveals the extreme density of a day in the French capital for migrants.”



Desert of Namibia“Desert of Namibia” (Parallel Sections) “For its intrepid exploration of contemporary shades of neurodivergence, captured through images that ceaselessly probe the distance between its central characters as they navigate the spaces of 21st century Japan.”



FIPRESCI Jury Cannes 2024

The Jury