8th Rio de Janeiro International Film Festival

Brazil, September 21 - October 5 2006

Awarded films

Nelson Pereira dos Santos, the Brazilian filmmaker and pioneer of the “cinema novo” movement of the 60s, was honored with FIPRESCI’s Lifetime Achievement Award (designed by Rodrigo Cardoso, trophy see right upper corner). Photo: fest director Ilda Santiago, FIPRESCI President of Honor Derek Malcolm and Nelson Pereira dos Santos.

Critics discussed, at a conference, the relationship between literature and cinema. The members of our jury focused on the Latin American entries to the festival and selected, as best film, Drained (O Cheiro do ralo) by Heitor Dhalia.