44th International Festival of the New Latinoamerican Cinema, Havana, Cuba

Cuba, December 8 - December 17 2023

Festival homepage

The jury

Carlo Gentile (Italy), Sergio Moreira (Uruguay), Rafael Grillo Hernández (Cuba)

Awarded films

The jury of The International Critics Prize (FIPRESCI Prize) at the 44th
edition of the International Festival of New Latin American Cinema in
Havana, made up of Sergio Moreira (president), Mario Arcadio Naito
López and Rafael Grillo, decide to award their prize to the Argentine
film El viento que arrasa (A Ravaging Wind) by director Paula
Hernández, for offering a story about the liberation of new generations
with respect to the paths predetermined by the family, the social
environment and religion, based on a classic narrative form and
estructure, but essentially adjusted to the human drama and the
psychological problems of its characters.