Discovery Award – Prix FIPRESCI Nominees 2023

Today, the European Film Academy revealed the nominees for the main categories of the 36th European Film Awards, including the Discovery Award – Prix FIPRESCI. The nominations are announced in an official nomination video in which teenagers from all over Europe, all members of the newly launched European Film Club, present all nominated films and protagonists. The winners will be revealed in the festive award ceremony that takes place on 9 December in Berlin.

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI nominees:
This award is presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics, to a director for the first full-length feature film. A committee composed of FIPRESCI members and experts appointed by the European Film Academy decides upon the six nominated productions.

• 20,000 SPECIES OF BEES (20.000 ESPECIES DE ABEJAS) directed by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)
• HOW TO HAVE SEX directed by Molly Manning Walker (United Kingdom, Greece)
• LA PALISIADA (ЛЯ ПАЛІСІАДА) directed by Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
• SAFE PLACE (SIGURNO MJESTO) directed by Juraj Lerotić (Croatia, Slovenia)
• THE QUIET MIGRATION (STILLE LIV) directed by Malene Choi (Denmark)
• VINCENT MUST DIE (VINCENT DOIT MOURIR) directed by Stéphan Castang (France, Belgium)

The full list of the 2023 nominees:

European Film:
• ANATOMY OF A FALL (ANATOMIE D’UNE CHUTE) directed by Justine Triet, produced by Marie-Ange Luciani & David Thion (France)
• FALLEN LEAVES (KUOLLEET LEHDET) directed by Aki Kaurismäki, produced by Aki Kaurismäki, Misha Jaari, Mark Lwoff & Reinhard Brundig (Finland, Germany)
• GREEN BORDER (ZIELONA GRANICA) directed by Agnieszka Holland, produced by Marcin Wierzchosławski, Fred Bernstein & Agnieszka Holland (Poland, France, Czech Republic, Belgium)
• ME CAPTAIN (IO CAPITANO) directed by Matteo Garrone, produced by Matteo Garrone, Paolo Del Brocco, Ardavan Safaee & Joseph Rouschop (Italy, Belgium)
• THE ZONE OF INTEREST directed by Jonathan Glazer, produced by James Wilson & Ewa Puszczyńska (United Kingdom, Poland, USA)

European Documentary:
• APOLONIA, APOLONIA directed by Lea Glob (Denmark, Poland)
• FOUR DAUGHTERS (LES FILLES D’OLFA) directed by Kaouther Ben Hania (France, Tunisia, Germany, Saudi Arabia)
• MOTHERLAND directed by Hanna Badziaka & Alexander Mihalkovich (Sweden, Ukraine, Norway)
• ON THE ADAMANT (SUR L’ADAMANT) directed by Nicolas Philibert (France, Japan)
• SMOKE SAUNA SISTERHOOD (SAVVUSANNA SÕSARAD) directed by Anna Hints (Estonia, France, Iceland)

European Director:
• Justine Triet for ANATOMY OF A FALL
• Aki Kaurismäki for FALLEN LEAVES
• Agnieszka Holland for GREEN BORDER
• Matteo Garrone for ME CAPTAIN
• Jonathan Glazer for THE ZONE OF INTEREST

European Actress:
• Sandra Hüller in ANATOMY OF A FALL
• Alma Pöysti in FALLEN LEAVES
• Mia McKenna-Bruce in HOW TO HAVE SEX
• Leonie Benesch in THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE
• Sandra Hüller in THE ZONE OF INTEREST

European Actor:
• Thomas Schubert in AFIRE
• Jussi Vatanen in FALLEN LEAVES
• Josh O’Connor in LA CHIMERA
• Mads Mikkelsen in THE PROMISED LAND
• Christian Friedel in THE ZONE OF INTEREST

European Screenwriter:
• Justine Triet & Arthur Harari for ANATOMY OF A FALL
• Aki Kaurismäki for FALLEN LEAVES
• Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela Łazarkiewicz-Sieczko & Agnieszka Holland for GREEN BORDER
• İlker Çatak & Johannes Duncker for THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE
• Jonathan Glazer for THE ZONE OF INTEREST

The nominations are based on the votes of 4,600 members of the European Film Academy who have been watching the films included in the annual Academy Selection. Now the Academy members will vote for the winners.

The annual Academy Selection is based on and reflects the excellent quality of each film. During the selection process, the Diversity & Inclusion Standards of the European Film Academy have been taken into consideration.

The European Film Awards honour the greatest achievements in European cinema. The ceremony of the European Film Awards – the most renowned and prestigious award for European film – is presented by the European Film Academy and European Film Academy Productions.