40th International Istanbul Film Festival

Turkey, June 18 - July 13 2021

Festival homepage

The jury

Massimo Lechi (Italy), Hsin Wang (Taiwan), Viktor Apalaci (Turkey), Nikolaos Aletras (Greece), Marcelo Ikeda (Brazil), Hasan Nadir Derin (Turkey)

Awarded films


Two prizes have been presented: to a film in the international, and to a film in the national competition. The jurors’ motivation for the prize in the national section states as follows: “For the impressive naturalistic study on the conflicts of a patriarchal working class family and the struggle of women in contemporary Turkey”.

This year, because of the Pandemic restrictions, the traditional prize to a Turkish short film has not been awarded.