72nd Locarno International Film Festival

Switzerland, August 7 - August 17 2019

Festival homepage

The jury

Viktor Palák (Czech Republic), Juliette Goudot (Belgium), Cristina Trezzini (Switzerland), Leonardo Goi (Italy)

Awarded films


Lili Hinstin, Locarno’s new artistic director, dedicated her first edition to the memory of Freddy Buache, a “tireless defender of cinema, visionary and combative” and has also given space to many films with interesting female characters and a pleasant dose of “French touch” (over half of the 17 films in competition are co-produced or produced by France). Read the reports of our jury members.

The Fever, Motivation of the jury: “An unassuming, evocative movie that beckons the viewer into the inner world of a poor security guard and his struggle against an encroaching and suffocating modernity. In her feature debut Maya Da-Rin crafts a movie where deep-seated conflicts teem with longing and tenderness, a tale as mysterious as it is rewarding.”